What is Servitization?

16. April 2020

Servitization

The world is moving in the direction of service. This trend hardly stops at any industry. One example is mechanical and plant engineering. This is why machine and system manufacturers are increasingly offering comprehensive services for all aspects of their equipment. This transformation is referred to as “servitization”. But what does this term mean and why is it so important?

What is Servitization?

Servitization is the shift from selling a pure product to providing a service that is enabled, e.g. by the product. A well-known example of this is no longer just selling the drill, but the holes in the wall. The technical definition of servitization according to Cambridge University researchers is: “the transformation of an organization’s capabilities and processes for better mutual value creation through a shift from selling products to selling product-service systems.”

Servitization is the shift from selling a pure product to providing a service that is enabled, e.g. by the product.

What are the types of servitization?

There are different types of servitization, i.e. the linking of a product with associated services. Based on Baines, there are three different types:

  • Basic Services
    Basic services usually consist of the provision of the product, the associated warranty and the appropriate spare parts.
  • Professional After-Sales Services:
    This type includes additional offerings to the product in after-sales such as commissioning, training, certification, scheduled maintenance, technical help desk, repairs, overhauls, service calls, etc.
  • Advanced After-Sales Services:
    This involves maintenance contracts, service level agreements, performance-based business or operator models, or rental agreements. In particular, technological innovations such as the Internet of Things will play a decisive role here in the future.

Why is Servitization so important?

Product, equipment, device, but also machine and system manufacturers are facing a challenging future.

Even before the Corona pandemic, many companies had to contend with sharp declines in orders and falling margins in the new equipment business. In response, some manufacturers, e.g. in the machine and system manufacturing sector, have already increased the focus on their service and after-sales business in the sense of servitization, among other things because of the more stable sales and the on average 2.5 times higher margins of services. According to McKinsey, servitization offers a strong lever for machine and system manufacturers to differentiate themselves from the competition, because manufacturers who exploit the potential of their installed base can increase their after-sales service revenue by up to 60 percent.

How do you get started with Servitization?

The trend toward service is not big news for most manufacturers. The crucial question is where and how to start setting up your service business for the digital future. To do this, you should first develop an understanding of where you are today in the maturity of servitization and digitization and where you want to go in service. We have found that Baines’ categorization of the three types of servitization as described above has not been sufficient for most of our customers. That’s why we have summarized these five stages of digitization for you here, which you can use to classify your own maturity level. After that, you can formulate much more clearly what the next sensible step is for you.

A practical tip from us:
Start where you really are today. Many companies would like to skip several expansion stages and go straight to predictive maintenance or similar digital offerings. We have often seen this approach fail in the fervor of digitalization.

Do you want to get started with digitization in service? We would be happy to show you how we are already helping other companies with digitization today and how we can help you too.

More information

Was bedeutet Servitization im Maschinenbau?

16. April 2020

Servitization

Die Welt bewegt sich in Richtung Service. Dieser Trend macht auch vor dem Maschinen- und Anlagenbau keinen Halt. Deshalb bieten Maschinen- und Anlagenhersteller zunehmend umfassende Services rund um Ihre Assets an. Diese Transformation wird als “Servitization” bezeichnet. Doch was bedeutet dieser Begriff und warum ist er so wichtig?

Was ist Servitization?

Servitization ist die Verlagerung vom Verkauf eines reinen Produktes hin zu einem Service, der z.B. durch das Produkt ermöglicht wird. Ein altbekanntes Beispiel hierfür ist nicht mehr nur die Bohrmaschine zu verkaufen, sondern die Löcher in der Wand. Die fachliche Definition von Servitization laut Forschern der Cambridge University aus dem Englischen ist: “die Transformation der Fähigkeiten und Prozesse einer Organisation zur besseren gegenseitigen Wertschöpfung durch eine Verlagerung vom Verkauf von Produkten zum Verkauf von Produkt-Service-Systemen”.

Servitization ist die Verlagerung vom Verkauf eines reinen Produktes hin zu einem Service, der z.B. durch das Produkt ermöglicht wird.

Welche Arten der Servitization gibt es im Maschinenbau?

Es gibt unterschiedliche Arten der Servitization, also der Verknüpfung einer Maschine oder Anlage mit dazugehörigen Services. Angelehnt an Baines gibt es drei verschiedene Arten:

  • Basis Services
    Die Basis Services im Maschinenbau setzen sich üblicherweise aus der Bereitstellung der Maschine, der zugehörigen Gewährleistung und den passenden Ersatzteilen zusammen.
  • Professionelle After-Sales Services:
    Zu dieser Art gehören zusätzliche Angebote im After-Sales wie Inbetriebnahme, Schulungen, Zertifizierungen, geplante Wartungen, technischer Helpdesk, Reparaturen, Überholungen, Serviceeinsätze etc. 
  • Advanced After-Sales Services:
    Hier geht es um Wartungsverträge, Service Level Agreements, performance-basierte Geschäfts- oder Betreibermodelle bzw. Mietvereinbarungen. Speziell die technologischen Neuerungen wie das Internet der Dinge werden hier in Zukunft eine entscheidende Rolle spielen.

Warum ist Servitization im Maschinenbau so wichtig?

Maschinen- und Anlagenhersteller stehen vor einer herausfordernden Zukunft.

Viele Unternehmen hatten bereits vor der Corona-Pandemie mit starken Auftragsrückgängen und sinkenden Margen im Neuanlagengeschäft zu kämpfen. Als Antwort haben einige Hersteller bereits verstärkten Fokus auf Ihr Service und After-Sales Geschäft im Sinne von Servitization gelegt, u.a. aufgrund der stabileren Umsätze und der im Schnitt 2,5 mal so hohen Margen von Services. Laut McKinsey bietet Servitization einen starken Hebel für Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer sich vom Wettbewerb abzuheben, denn Hersteller, die das Potenzial ihrer installierten Basis ausschöpfen, können ihren After-Sales Service Umsatz um bis zu 60 Prozent steigern.

Wie fängt man mit Servitization an?

Der Trend in Richtung Service stellt für die meisten Maschinenbauer keine große Neuigkeiten dar. Entscheidend ist die Frage wo und wie man anfängt, sein Servicegeschäft für die digitale Zukunft aufzustellen. Dafür sollten Sie zunächst ein Verständnis entwickeln, wo Sie heute im Reifegrad der Servitization stehen und wo Sie im Service hinwollen. Wir haben festgestellt, dass die Einordnung nach Baines in die drei Arten von Servitization wie oben beschrieben den meisten unserer Kunden aus dem Maschinenbau nicht ausgereicht hat. Deshalb haben wir hier die fünf Stufen der Servitization für Sie zusammengefasst, mit Hilfe derer Sie Ihren eigenen Reifegrad einordnen können. Danach lässt sich deutlich klarer formulieren, was der nächste sinnvolle Schritt für Sie ist. 

Ein Praxistipp von uns:
Fangen Sie da an, wo Sie heute wirklich stehen. Viele Unternehmen möchten gerne mehrere Ausbaustufen überspringen und direkt zu Predictive Maintenance oder ähnlichen digitalen Angeboten übergehen. Wir haben diese Herangehensweise im Digitalisierungseifer häufig scheitern sehen.

Sie wollen mit der Digitalisierung im Service loslegen? Gerne zeigen wir Ihnen, wie wir anderen Unternehmen aus dem Maschinenbau heute bereits mit dem digitalen Servicebericht helfen und wie wir auch Ihnen helfen können.

Mehr erfahren