Five stages of servitization in machine manufacturing

4. May 2020

Servitization

Many manufacturers have already realised that the future of their machines and systems lies in service. In this blog post we will explain what servitization is and what it means for you and the machine manufacturing industry. In order to be able to classify more precisely where your company stands on the servitization maturity scale, we have created the following overview as a tool for you.

Servitization Maturity Scale in machine manufacturing

Screenshot 2020-06-02 at 21.21.59
Servitization Maturity Scale

On the maturity scale of servitization, you will find on the very left in the first stage those companies who have not yet followed the trend towards service. On the far right are companies that already offer new business models in the sense of Asset-as-a-Service. With the help of the following steps you can classify where you stand with your company:


There are many different forms of servitization. It is crucial to establish a clear roadmap for the transformation towards service and not to take too many steps at once.

  1. Sell & Forget
    The first stage of servitization on the far left describes the degree of maturity when machine manufacturers  have sold machines for decades and cannot tell exactly where they are located. Completely reactive they only serve a fraction of their installed base with basic services such as warranty and spare parts, according to Baines so-called “base services”. According to the Mechanical Engineering Industry Association (VDMA) VDMA, German machine manufacturers only provide services for between 10 and 25 % of their own installed base. This means that many companies are still at the very beginning.

  2. Fail & Fix
    The second stage of Servitization describes machine and equipment manufacturers who will react only when their customers or dealers contact them. This means that they for example offer maintenance and repair services, but not proactively. Often associated with this level of maturity, we see under-digitized processes such as paper-based service reports or no existing ticketing system for efficient processing of service requests. Even spare parts and maintenance services are usually not yet offered here via a digital service portal or similar solutions.

  3. Service Excellence
    Companies at this level of maturity have focused on getting their service business under control. Fast response times, high service availability, longer planning periods for service cases and the beginning of proactive offers in service, e.g. through maintenance contracts. This is where digital tools often come into play, making life easier for both office and field service staff. Since good service technicians are hard to find, this is also mainly about increasing the efficiency of your own team.
  4. Digital Services
    Many companies would like to skip the third expansion stage and go directly to predictive maintenance or similar offers. In order to be able to offer digital services sustainably and proactively in the future, the necessary infrastructure must be provided in stage 3 as a basis for technologies such as the Internet of Things or Augmented Reality to be used sensibly and for clear business results.

  5. Asset-as-a-Service
    The final stage of servitization is reached when the product is no longer sold but offered as a service. These are often so-called performance-based business models described as “X-as-a-Service”, where X stands for “everything” nowadays. As an example, here a machine is rented to the operator as a service with a certain availability in order to, among other things, shift the risk of the total cost of ownership to the manufacturer (CAPEX to OPEX). Without having gone through the previous stages of servitization, manufacturers usually find it very difficult to offer this type of business model profitably.

A practical tip from our team:
Always calculate the business case for your next step. Who earns more money with it or saves time or costs? Only when you have a business case you should invest in the next step or in digitization in service.

We can help you set up a roadmap with an underlying business case for your service business. Contact us for a consultation with one of our experts.

Book a meeting now

Fünf Stufen der Servitization im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau

4. Mai 2020

Servitization

Einige Hersteller haben bereits verstanden, dass die Zukunft Ihrer Maschinen und Anlagen im Service liegt. Hier haben wir für Sie beschrieben, was Servitization ist und was das für Sie und den Maschinenbau bedeutet. Um nun genauer einordnen zu können, wo sich Ihr Unternehmen auf dem Reifegrad der Servitization befindet, haben wir die folgende Übersicht als Hilfestellung erstellt.

Was sind die fünf Stufen der Servitization?

Reifegrad Skala Servitization

Auf der Reifegrad Skala der Servitization finden Sie ganz links in der ersten Stufe die Unternehmen, die dem Trend Richtung Service noch gar nicht gefolgt sind. Ganz rechts stehen Unternehmen, die bereits neue Geschäftsmodelle im Sinne von Asset-as-a-Service anbieten. Mit Hilfe der folgenden Schritte können Sie einordnen wo Sie mit Ihrem Unternehmen stehen:

  1. Sell & Forget
    Die erste Ausbaustufe der Servitization ganz links beschreibt den Reifegrad, wenn Maschinenbauer über Jahrzehnte hinweg Maschinen verkauft haben und nicht genau sagen können, wo sich diese überhaupt befinden. Vollständig reaktiv bedienen Sie nur einen Bruchteil Ihrer installierten Basis mit Grundlagen Services wie Gewährleistung und Ersatzteilen, laut Baines sogenannte “Base Services”. Laut VDMA bedient der deutsche Maschinenbau nur zwischen 10 und 25 % der eigenen installierten Basis mit Services. Das bedeutet, dass sich noch viele Unternehmen ganz am Anfang befinden.

  2. Fail & Fix
    Die zweite Ausbaustufe der Servitization beschreibt Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer, die dann reagieren, wenn sich Ihre Kunden oder Händler melden. Das heißt, sie bieten beispielsweise Wartung- und Instandhaltungsservices an, jedoch nicht proaktiv. Oft einhergehend mit diesem Reifegrad sehen wir unterdigitalisierte Prozesse wie papierbasierte Serviceberichte oder kein vorhandenes Ticketingsystem zur effizienten Verarbeitung von Serviceanfragen. Auch Ersatzteile und Wartungsangebote werden hier meist noch nicht über ein digitales Serviceportal oder Ähnliches angeboten.

  3. Service Excellence
    Unternehmen in diesem Reifegrad haben sich darauf konzentriert, ihr Servicegeschäft in den Griff zu kriegen. Schnelle Reaktionszeiten, hohe Serviceverfügbarkeiten, längere Planungshorizonte für Serviceeinsätze und beginnende proaktive Angebote im Service z.B. über Wartungsverträge. Hier kommen oft digitale Tools ins Spiel, die sowohl dem Innen- als auch Außendienst im Service das Leben erleichtern. Da gute Servicetechniker schwer zu finden sind, geht es hier vorwiegend um Effizienzsteigerungen des eigenen Teams.

  4. Digitale Services
    Viele Unternehmen möchten gerne die dritte Ausbaustufe überspringen und direkt zu Predictive Maintenance oder ähnlichen Angeboten übergehen. Um in der Zukunft digitale Services nachhaltig, proaktiv anbieten zu können, muss in Stufe 3 die nötige Infrastruktur als Grundlage geschaffen werden, damit hier Technologien wie das Internet der Dinge oder Augmented Reality Brillen sinnvoll Anwendung finden und dabei auch klare Geschäftsergebnisse generiert werden können.

  5. Asset-as-a-Service
    Die Endausbaustufe der Servitization ist dann erreicht, wenn nicht mehr das Produkt verkauft wird, sondern das Produkt als Service angeboten wird. Dabei handelt es sich oft um sogenannte performance-basierte Geschäftsmodelle, die mit “X-as-a-Service” beschrieben werden, wobei X heutzutage für “Alles” steht. Als Beispiel wird eine Maschine hier mit einer gewissen Verfügbarkeit an den Betreiber als Service vermietet, um u.a. das Risiko der Total Cost of Ownership auf den Hersteller zu verlagern (CAPEX zu OPEX). Ohne die vorherigen Stufen der Servitization durchlaufen zu haben, fällt es  Herstellern in der Regel sehr schwer diese Art von Geschäftsmodell gewinnbringend anzubieten.


Auf dem Weg der Servitization gibt es viele unterschiedliche Ausprägungen. Entscheidend ist einen klaren Fahrplan für die Transformation in Richtung Service aufzustellen und nicht zu viele Schritte auf einmal gehen zu wollen.

Ein Praxistipp von uns:
Berechnen Sie immer den Business Case für Ihren nächsten Schritt. Wer verdient damit mehr Geld oder spart Zeit oder Kosten? Nur wenn ein Business Case vorliegt, sollten Sie in den nächsten Schritt bzw. in die Digitalisierung im Service investieren.

Sie wollen Ihr Unternehmen in Richtung Servitization führen? Gerne zeigen wir Ihnen, wie wir anderen Unternehmen aus dem Maschinenbau heute bereits mit der Digitalisierung ihres Servicegeschäfts helfen und wie wir auch Ihnen helfen können.

Mehr erfahren